Congratulations Solar Decathlon China 2013 Award Winners


Solar Decathlon China, the most recent addition to the international family of Solar Decathlon competitions, commenced on August 2, 2013 and ended today. It was hosted by the National Energy Administration and the U.S. Department of Energy, organized by Peking University, and supported by private companies. Final awards are posted: University of Wollongong (UOW) took first place overall, with South China University of Technology (SCUT) taking second place and Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden) taking third. Winners of the subjective contest awards and objective contest awards are also posted.

Participants in Solar Decathlon China’s included 22 teams from 35 universities with students from over 35 nationalities in 13 countries on 6 continents:
• Abbaspour University of Technology (Iran)
• Peking University and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (China-United States)
• Tel Aviv University, Shenkar College of Engineering and Design, Neri Bloomfield School of Design and Education, College of Management Academic Studies (Israel)
• Inner Mongolia University of Technology (China)
• Alfred State College and Guilin University of Technology and Alfred University (China-United States)
• London Metropolitan University and Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts (England-China)
• Shandong Jianzhu University (China)
• Shanghai Jiaotong University (China)
• South China University of Technology and Huazhong University of Science and Technology (China)
• Southeast University (China)
• University of Wollongong (Australia)
• Beijing Jiaotong University and Bern University of Applied Sciences (China-Switzerland)
• New Jersey Institute of Technology and Harbin Institute of Technology (United States-China)
• Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden)
• Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (Malaysia)
• American University in Cairo (Egypt)
• Xiamen University (China)
• Xi’an University of Architecture and Technology (China)
• National University of Singapore (Singapore)
• Worcester Polytechnic Institute and Ghent University and Polytechnic Institute of New York University.
• Tsinghua University and Florida International University (China – United States)
• Middle East Technical University (Turkey)

Additional Sources: U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon Website